Updated: Jan 15

29 October 2020

A statement in solidarity with the uprising in Belarus, signed by MPs, activists, trade unionists and others.

As activists, writers, trade unionists and politicians on the left in the UK, we are writing to extend our solidarity with the people of Belarus in their struggle for democracy. Since the rigged elections on 8th August, millions of Belarusians have defied the regime of Alexander Lukashenko.  

The strikes and mass protests taking place across Belarus are not just an important means of defying Lukashenko. They are an inspiration to workers and progressives across Europe and the world. 

Our solidarity extends to all those who are struggling for democracy, the rights of minorities, and for the right to freely dissent and organise in Belarus. We note also the special role of organised workers in the uprising, and we send our solidarity to them in the face of persecution and strike-breaking by the regime. 

We utterly reject the idea that democratisation, or a more open society, need be a move towards neo liberal economic reforms. Only by organising together as a mass movement can ordinary people guarantee and extend democracy in society and the economy. 

We will organise in solidarity with the people of Belarus. We call on the left, progressives and the trade union movement in the UK and across the world to do likewise, and to oppose the introduction of repressive forces from outside Belarus.

  1. John McDonnell MP

  2. Nadia Whittome MP

  3. Caroline Lucas MP

  4. Owen Thompson MP

  5. Kenny Macaskill MP

  6. Virendra Sharma MP

  7. Apsana Begum MP

  8. Clive Lewis MP

  9. Kate Osamor MP

  10. Sam Tarry MP

  11. Mick Antoniw AM, Member of Welsh Parliament

  12. Paul Mason, journalist

  13. Richard Corbett, Shipley, former leader of Labour MEPs

  14. Michael Chessum, Another Europe is Possible

  15. Ana Oppenheim, Momentum NCG 

  16. Peter Tatchell, human rights activist

  17. Laura Parker, former Momentum national coordinator

  18. Zoe Williams, London, journalist

  19. Pasco-Q Kevlin, Labour Party

  20. Anthony Ingle, Musician

  21. Peter Buckley, Oldham West and Royton Labour CLP

  22. Robbie Stamp

  23. Joseph Healy, Anti Capitalist Resistance

  24. Anthony Cable 

  25. Sarah Windrum 

  26. Scarlett McGuire, London, Journalist

  27. Shaista Aziz, Oxford Labour Councillor, Stop Trump coalition

  28. Simon Bean

  29. Joseph Ingleby

  30. Eleanor Gibson 

  31. Philippa Rathborne

  32. Bill Starling

  33. Roy Seaman 

  34. Deborah Jay-Lewin

  35. Lorraine Shaw, Member of the Labour Party 

  36. Ken Barker, Unite (Cardiff General Branch)

  37. Daniel Randall, Assistant Chair, RMT Bakerloo branch (pc)

  38. Howard Harris

  39. Ian Fairbairn 

  40. Julian Evans, Bristol, MCIJ

  41. Sandro Montagner, London

  42. David Taffs, Dartford

  43. Mike McNulty, Edinburgh, SNP Member

  44. Gemma Driver, West Sussex, Development Consultant

  45. Viv Seears, Maentwrog

  46. Diana Morgan, Leatherhead Surrey England

  47. Huw Morgan, London

  48. Nigel Hawker, Yorkshire

  49. Brian Fowler, Lancashire

  50. Tim Guy, Milton Keynes

  51. Miles Newman, Lancaster

  52. Morgan Gordon, London

  53. Darius Samadian, Harrogate  

  54. Thomas Grayson-Smith, London 

  55. Caroline Hering, London

  56. Nick Maiden, Chester

  57. Ian Callister, Ashford 

  58. Juliana Grundy, Wigan, UNISON and Labour Party 

  59. C.fraser, Hertfordshire, Anti Facist

  60. Stephanie Bowgett, Huddersfield

  61. Kevin Edwards, Brighton

  62. David Cooper, Crawley

  63. Stephen Harvey, Southampton 

  64. Lyndsay Wheble, Bristol 

  65. Sonia Rawlinson, Burnley

  66. Bridget Carrington, Dereham, Norfolk, Labour Party member

  67. Di Murray , Barnstaple 

  68. Katie Blood, Tamworth 

  69. Richard Duployen, Abingdon-on-Thames, European Movement, Oxford Region Branch

  70. John Camp, London

  71. Timothy Mullen, Stoke-on-Trent

  72. Jennie Cook, Southbourne

  73. John Collins, London

  74. Edna Mullen , Stoke-on-Trent

  75. Shelley Jackson , Towcester 

  76. Irena Paxton, Cardiff

  77. Keith Reader, London 

  78. Simon Evans, London, Labour Party

  79. Jenifer Wates, Woodstock

  80. Ruth Appleton, London, Labour Party Delegate from Camden Unison

  81. Dr Christopher Wilkinson, Rhymney

  82. Martin Huebscher, Tunbridge Wells 

  83. Alison Rees, W Sussex

  84. Achsa Griffiths, Sandwich 

  85. Susan Mosedale, Glasgow 

  86. Philip Hylton , Warrington 

  87. David Sylph, York, Human rights activist

  88. Joan Green, Cambridge

  89. Richard Pierson, Yorkshire  

  90. Anthony lilly, Battle, Engineer

  91. Stan Smith, Nottingham, Labour Party member

  92. John Warburton, Mold

  93. Michal Guest Rob Payne, Southport 

  94. Keith Leech, Rotherham 

  95. Hannah Cole, Oxford 

  96. Daniel Nichols, Romford, Political Officer, Romford Labour Party

  97. Oliver Senton, Kent

  98. Roger Coates, Silesia, Retired

  99. Lyn Parry, Barcelona, Ex social worker

  100. Anne Davidson, Surrey

and 1124 other named individuals.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All